Monday, May 07, 2018


Spirit of Speyside Whisky Festival organisers, have announced the winners of this year’s whisky awards.

The winners for the only whisky competition in the world, that places the power to determine the winning drams in the hands of the public, were announced at last night’s festival closing event, held at the Craigellachie Hotel in Speyside.

Spirit of Speyside Whisky Festival award winners announced

The 2018 Spirit of Speyside Whisky Festival award winners:
Non-age Statement Winner
Glen Moray Classic Chardonnay
12 Year Old and Under Winner
Strathisla 12 Year Old
13 – 20 Year Old Winner
Glen Moray 18 Year Old
Glenfiddich 21 Year Old Reserva Rum Cask Finish

Commenting at the close of this year’s event and on this year’s awards winners, James Campbell, Chairman of Spirit of Speyside Whisky Festival said: “What a truly magnificent five days we have had here in Speyside. We’ve been joined by people from more countries than ever, as well as local people, who have been able to enjoy our biggest ever programme of events, and amid glorious sunshine too.”

He went onto say: “One of the key events of the festival is the Spirit of Speyside Whisky Awards and we congratulate all our winners. From a fantastic range of new events, the Off The Beaten Track tour encompassed landscape, whisky and food, three qualities for which Speyside is famed the world over, making it a worthy winner of best new event. We’re delighted to have been able to offer so many different experiences to so many people, all enjoyed over a dram and in convivial company.”

The runner-up in the 21 and Over category; Cragganmore Special Release 25 Year Old, received the most overall votes, making it the public’s favourite.

Posted by Steve Rush